Faculty 2018-03-05T18:41:42+00:00

2017 Director


Jennifer S. Myers, MD, FACP, FHM

Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Associate Designated Institutional Official for Quality & Safety, Graduate Medical Education
Director of Quality & Safety Education, Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania

Jennifer S. Myers, MD, FACP, FHM, is Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine and has been a faculty member and academic hospitalist at Penn for the last 14 years. She is the Director of Quality and Safety Education at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and the Associate Designated Institutional Official for Quality and Safety in Graduate Medical Education for the University of Pennsylvania Health System. She is also the Director of Training Programs in Penn’s Center for Healthcare Improvement and Patient Safety, which is a two-year research degree granting fellowship for post-graduate fellows or junior faculty.

Read More…

2017 Co-Director

Anjala Tess, MD, SFHM

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Anjala Tess, MD, SFHM, has been involved in teaching and mentoring patient safety for more than 10 years. Dr. Tess and her team created an acclaimed quality improvement rotation for Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) residents that was recently awarded second place for the Duncan Neushauer Curricular Innovation Award from the Academy of Healthcare Improvement. Under her direction, this elective has become a mandatory part of training for residents. Dr. Tess’ research on this program has shown that the curriculum has affected the culture of safety in the department.

Read More…

2017 Core Faculty


Ruth Franks Snedecor, MD

Associate Program Director
Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center

Ruth Franks Snedecor, MD is as an Academic Hospitalist and Associate Program Director of the University of Arizona College of Medicine(UofACOM)-Phoenix Internal Medicine Residency Program wherein she is also the director of the quality improvement (QI) and patient safety (PS) curriculum for the internal medicine residents teaching patient safety and mentoring residents and faculty to lead hospital and clinic-based QI projects.

Read More…


Jeffrey L. Greenwald, MD, SFHM

Inpatient Clinician Educator Service
Massachusetts General Hospital
Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Jeffrey L. Greenwald, MD, SFHM, is a native of the suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, and completed medical training at Harvard Medical School before going to Barnes Hospital in St. Louis for Internal Medicine.

Shortly after completing this training, Dr. Greenwald married and he and his wife, Suzanne, moved to Oxford, England, where she was working toward her PhD in education policy. During this time, Dr. Greenwald practiced as a Specialist Registrar at the John Radcliffe Hospital, spending time in both inpatient medicine and intensive care medicine.

Read More…

Julie Oyler, MD

Associate Professor
Associate Program Director
University of Chicago Medicine

Julie Oyler, MD, is an Associate Professor at the University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine. She has been an Associate Program Director for the Internal Medicine Residency program since 2006. She and her colleagues developed the Quality Assessment and Improvement Curriculum (QAIC), a two-year curriculum based on the American Board of Internal Medicine’s Practice Improvement Modules, which has been used to teach residents two core competencies — Practice-Based Learning and Improvement (PBLI) and Systems-Based Practice (SBP) — for the past 10 years.

Read More…

Sumant Ranji

Sumant Ranji, MD

Associate Professor
UCSF School of Medicine

Sumant Ranji, MD, completed his Internal Medicine residency training at the University of Chicago, and subsequently served as Chief Medical Resident at Cook County Hospital in Chicago. He joined the UCSF Division of Hospital Medicine in 2004 after completing a two-year fellowship in Hospital Medicine and Clinical Research at UCSF. Dr. Ranji currently serves as the Associate Program Director for Quality and Safety for the UCSF Internal Medicine residency program.

Read More…


Brijen Shah, MD

Assistant Professor
Mount Sinai Hospital

Brijen Shah, MD, is a board-certified internist, gastroenterologist and geriatrician who is an assistant professor at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Medical Center and the director of GME for faculty development, quality and patient safety. Dr. Shah is a graduate of the Warren Alpert School of Medicine and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Internal Medicine Residency.

Read More…


Erin R. Stucky Fisher, MD, MHM, FAAP

Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
Vice-Chair for Clinical Affairs
Pediatric Hospital Medicine Fellowship Director
University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine
Medical Director for Quality
Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego

Erin Stucky Fisher, MD, FAAP, MHM, is a pediatric hospitalist and Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at the University of California San Diego (UCSD) Department of Pediatrics at Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego (RCHSD). She is the UCSD Pediatric Hospital Medicine Fellowship Director, Chief of the Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine and Medical Director for Quality at RCHSD.

Read More…


Darlene Tad-y, MD

Assistant Professor
University of Colorado

Darlene B. Tad-y, MD, is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado. As the Director for GME Quality and Safety Programs, Dr. Tad-y has created GME-wide educational programs that integrate quality and safety initiatives into resident and fellow training across all specialties.

Read More…

Eric Warm, MD

Richard W. Vilter Professor of Medicine
Internal Medicine Residency Director, University of Cincinnati
Medical Director, Resident Ambulatory Practice, University of Cincinnati

Dr. Warm is the Richard W. Vilter Professor of Medicine, the Internal Medicine residency program director, and the medical director of the resident ambulatory practice at the University of Cincinnati. Dr. Warm completed an undergraduate degree in biology in 1989 from the University of Cincinnati earning summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa honors, and was a 1993 Alpha Omega Alpha graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. He completed his residency and chief residency there as well, joining the Internal Medicine faculty in 1997.

Read More…